Illinois Statute of Limitations
In the state of Illinois, there are laws in place which set a time limit on how long a person has to file a civil lawsuit. This time limit is known as a statute of limitations and varies from case to case. Depending on the nature of your civil lawsuit, the statute of limitations could be as short as 1 year and as long as 5 years. As a statute of limitations limits how long after you’ve sustained an injury you can file for compensation, it is important to understand what the limit for your case is.
Although pursuing a personal injury lawsuit might not be the first thing on your mind after an accident caused by someone else, it is often necessary to consider filing a personal injury claim as soon as possible. Contact a Danville personal injury attorney of Spiros Law, P.C., today at (217) 443-4343 to discuss your case.
Examples of the Illinois Statute of Limitations
Illinois limits the time you can file a civil lawsuit according to the type of offense that was committed. The time limit begins on the date that the injury is suffered or an accident happens. While there can be some exceptions to the rules, statutes of limitations are typically very strict. Some examples of statutes of limitations in Illinois include:
- 2 years from date of injury for personal injury
- 2 years from action that created injury or possibly up to 2 years from discovery
- 5 years for personal property injury/damage
- 2 years from the date of a wrongful death
It’s important to make sure that you consider legal time limitations when you have been wrongly injured or harmed so you don’t lose out on compensation that may rightfully be yours.
If you’ve been injured or otherwise harmed, it’s important that you hold the person at fault responsible for their negligence. Contact a knowledgeable Danville personal injury lawyer at Spiros Law, P.C., today at (217) 443-4343 to learn how we might be able to help you.