Illegal to Text and Drive in Illinois
There has been an amendment to the Illinois Vehicle Code. The new law makes it illegal to text while driving.
The Virginia Tech Transportation Institute did a national study on cell phone use while driving. They found that accident risk was increased by 23 percent if text messaging while driving. In Illinois, if you are pulled over for text messaging and driving and can be a $75 ticket. If you are text messaging and driving and involved in an accident, there may be an additional $200 fine.
If you or someone you love has been injured in a car accident due to the negligence of another person, contact the Danville car accident lawyers of Spiros Law, P.C. at (217) 443-4343 today.